?

Log in

No account? Create an account
Get your random questions here!
Vegetarianism 
27th-Dec-2011 08:48 am
MZ Silhouettes
This poll may not sound subjective, but it is to me. Without looking at wikipedia or elsewhere on the internet, just using whatever is already there in your brain...

Poll #1806307 Vegetarianism

Does a person who labels him- or herself as vegetarian eat eggs?

Yes
53(84.1%)
No
10(15.9%)



I fully realize that most people will want an option aside from yes or no. Which is why I didn't provide one. Hah. Feel free to comment instead.
Comments 
27th-Dec-2011 03:43 pm (UTC)
I feel like I don't even know what a vegetarian is anymore because half the time half of them eat stuff the other half are horrified by. :/
27th-Dec-2011 04:41 pm (UTC)
I'm a bit confused myself. I thought I understood the difference between vegan and vegetarianism but was put in my place this morning and it made me wonder if my head is on crooked. Which it probably is anyway.
27th-Dec-2011 04:43 pm (UTC)
What did you think the difference is and what were you told it is?
27th-Dec-2011 04:46 pm (UTC)
My boss told me that I needed to take bacon off the menu for one person we are inviting to a breakfast because he is Muslim. I said I could order a vegetarian meal for that person, and he said, no, not vegetarian because he can eat eggs. I said that I thought not eating eggs was vegan and he disagreed with me and reiterated to just remove the bacon slices from the person's meal. So I did. And then I came to polloftheday because I feel like an idiot.
28th-Dec-2011 03:05 pm (UTC)
The Muslim bit is just that they can't eat pork or beef from what I believe.

Vegetarians don't eat anything that's been alive.. That's why eggs are okay. Vegans don't eat ANY animal byproducts such as eggs, milk, or other dairy products.
27th-Dec-2011 06:49 pm (UTC)
The problem is that vegetarians/vegans all define meat/animal products differently, and also eggs are a kind of weird middle ground, not being meat but still being a baby animal? When my sister Katie was vegetarian she ate eggs all the time, but she avoided meat because of taste, not principles. A vegetarian would eat honey, but a vegan wouldn't. And milk? So hard to call. Sooo hard.
28th-Dec-2011 02:01 am (UTC)
Technically they're not a baby animal as they weren't fertilized; similarly, masturbatory ejaculate isn't embryos dying in a kleenex. Eggs are however from an animal, which is where the grey area is.

Edited at 2011-12-28 02:01 am (UTC)
28th-Dec-2011 03:17 am (UTC)
Although there are also vegans who eat honey anyway.
27th-Dec-2011 07:18 pm (UTC)
Lacto-ovo vegetarians do not eat milk, but do eat eggs and dairy - some may be strict about whether or not their cheese contains non-vegetarian rennet (usually made from the extract of dead calf stomachs).

Vegans do not eat eggs or milk/milk products. They can be described as vegetarians because they don't eat meat, but lacto-ovo vegetarians can't be described as vegan. There is the neologism 'veg*n' which includes both vegans and vegetarians.

Why don't vegans eat dairy products? With regards to ethics: Male chicks are killed on a massive scale. Most male dairy calves are killed. Most egg-laying chickens and dairy cows are killed when they no longer produce as much eggs or milk as they did at their peak. So if you call yourself a vegetarian but eat commercially-farmed milk or eggs, you are to some extent responsible for animal death.

(I eat meat btw, but have had phases of being a vegan and a vegetarian.)
28th-Dec-2011 02:03 am (UTC)
I always knew lacto-ovos to consume eggs and all dairy, including milk.
27th-Dec-2011 07:40 pm (UTC)
I tend to identify vegetarians as egg-eaters most of the time, some aren't ovo vegetarians, though, so it's a yes with reservations.
28th-Dec-2011 01:47 am (UTC)
Vegetarians do not eat meat (at all - fish included); vegans do not consume animal products (dietary vegans do not EAT animal products). A vegetarian who does not consume eggs and/or dairy should specify as such when expressing dietary preferences because that is most certainly not assumed. So: yes, unless otherwise specified. Avoidance of eggs/dairy/other animal products is not inherent in the definition.
28th-Dec-2011 07:25 am (UTC)
It depends on the individual. Vegetarians, by definition, eat eggs, but some of the people who label themselves such do not.
30th-Dec-2011 08:46 pm (UTC)
I can't answer this poll because there are different types of vegetarians. You can't lump them into one thing and then only provide "yes" or "no".
This page was loaded Feb 21st 2018, 11:29 pm GMT.